Skip to main content
OpenEye Knowledge Base

How to Add Users and User Groups

Through OpenEye Web Services, Users are never assigned permissions directly to their account. Instead, all OWS permissions are assigned to User Groups, to which a User can be added. Users in a User Group will have access to all permissions enabled in the User Group settings.
Adding New Users
  1. Users can be added from Management > User Management > Users.

EU Management Users.png

  1. Click Add New User.

Add New User Button.png

  1. Enter a First Name, Last Name, and Email Address.
  2. Use the Add User to Group dropdown menu to assign the new user to a User Group.

  1. Click Add New User after the required fields are entered.

NOTE: Export from the Users page will download a CSV file containing all the details on the Users page, including the names of each User Group to which a user is added. See User List CSV Export for more information.

Adding Users to a User Group
  1. Click Edit Edit Button.png to add a User to a User Group under Group Membership.

EU Users Edit User Group Membership.png

  1. Click Add User to User Group.

  1. Click Green Add button.png to select the groups for the User account from the pop-up menu.

  1. Click Select.
Add User Group

User Groups are classifications which grant Users permissions to access various aspects of the account. The Administrator, Super User, and User default groups cannot be edited, and it will be necessary to create a new User Group to customize permissions. To view and make changes to a User Group (other than a default one), click Edit Edit Button.png next to the desired User Group, or Create a New User Group.

1. User Groups can be created from Management > User Management > User Groups.

EU User Groups Add New User Group.png

  1. Click Add New User Group.

  1. Enter a Name and Description for the new User Group.

  1. Click Create.
  2. Click Edit Edit Button.png to add Users once a new group has been created.
  3. Click Add User Add User button.png and select Users from the pop-up menu. 

Add User Pop-up.png

  1. Click Select to add the User to the User Group.

NOTE: Select Enable Auto Include to include everyone; adding Users to a group in this manner automatically includes future users.

  • Was this article helpful?