Skip to main content
OpenEye Knowledge Base

Orphaned Cameras - How to associate one camera to another

Associating a camera, in simple terms, is linking an old camera with its replacement.

Items of Note:

  • To avoid issues that can occur with camera association, please make sure the replacement camera is fully functioning and recording before completing the camera association.
  • Merging the cameras will create a duplicate of the new camera that is disabled and be called <camera name>_Temporary. This duplicate will contain any video that was recorded between when the new camera was added to the software and when the old and new cameras were merged. The option to create this duplicate is selected by checking the box for ‘Save current video for this camera.’
  • There may be gaps in video from the time the target camera stopped recording and when the camera association takes place. This can occur for many reasons such as the camera failed and could not be replaced for a few days, the stream settings are not being detected by Apex from the new camera, or the new camera's login is incorrect. 
  • If the same camera is associated with itself, it will pull in all the video and previous stream settings from the target camera. 
  • If the target camera's profile is broken, the camera association may corrupt the newly added camera's profile. If this ends up being the result of the merger, disable the camera added as the result of the merger to keep the previous video. Then add the new camera under a unique name. Once the video from the failed camera is no longer needed, delete the disabled camera. 

How to associate one camera to another

*** Note: this process cannot be undone. ***

  1. Disable the original camera.
    clipboard_e94976373408b73cd509d7dd319e81809.png
  2. Add the new camera to the NVR.
    clipboard_ed5fc1140ff06cd1b2ba8f3dd582b9c05.png
  3. Once the new camera is added, select the new camera by clicking on the new camera's name in the list
    clipboard_e08738f25b01814a1250652aed3ec26b8.png
  4. Click the "Associate Camera" button. Select the new camera in the ‘Into this camera’ drop down.
    clipboard_e859ea108e0724f46db62c070cb5d7500.png
  5. The NVR will prompt the option to cancel or continue before the process begins.
    clipboard_e825fa69f9da84128d98be3bc53126832.png
  6. If the “Save current recorded video for this camera” option was checked, the <camera_name>_Temporary entry will appear under the merged camera:
    clipboard_e2a5cc48ee94720d1d5fc05c64857acf1.png

 

 

 

  • Was this article helpful?